The large monastery school in Gannan- Labrang monastery

My curiosity making me travel far to visit and always make me feel smaller when I travel.

Labrang is located in Xiahe county, Gannan Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture, Gansu, in the traditional Tibetan area of Amdo. Labrang Monastery is home to the largest number of monks outside the Tibet Autonomous Region. Xiahe is about four hours by car from the provincial capital Lanzhou at 3400 M high attitude.

In the early part of the 20th century, Labrang was by far the largest and most influential monastery in Amdo. It is located on the Daxia River.

The local people told me the monastery is the highest and currently take up 1900 monks and they are into the quality now not the numbers !

See the monks could study at that school to doctor degree in such clean and peaceful place.

Somehow herd reminds me when I first time visit Latin America high attitude but feeling very peaceful.

Before head into the monastery stopped by at the town for the lunch.

Flatten noodle with potato noodle, shredded beef because most of the people can’t eat pork in the Tibetan area so you could see a lot of restaurants only sell beef and lamb
This bun inside have sugar and some nuts quite interesting taste buy I would go WOW …
This is the entrance where I started but to be very honest the monastery is very big and some areas are restricted to get in only for Monks

Photos are not allow inside and only able to take outside.

Love how they are so religious and keep in mind it only go clockwise when you start and Labrang monastery has the longest prayer wheel from start to finish take 2-3 hours.

Clinic

How interesting few years ago went to Seda because it was opened for none foreigners and I got excited so joined a tour to go but also got high attitude sickness and it was quite serious. But this time I came and well prepared before I start this trip.

Leave a comment