Rou Gu cha ( Bak Kut Teh) – Spicy pork rib soup

Rou Gu Cha (Bak Kut Teh)- this sweet, little peppery and tender rib braised with garlic.

At the first, I thought how could people take this in such a hot weather like Singapore or Malaysia. But as long as I am not sitting under the heat while sipping the soup, I am into whatever good food in front of me.

I have tried the Malay version of spicy pork rib soup, the herbal flavor is strong unlike the Singapore style. What I like about Singapore version is they put a lot of garlic to kill the unpleasant taste and bring up the sweetness from the pork ribs and just a touch of the pepper in soup.

You can accompany the soup with salted vegetables, braised pork trotters, fried dough fritters. It all depending on how big your tummy is.

photos of places I have tried in Singapore and Malaysia.

Leave a Reply

